Case number: 3:17-bk-31795 - Bestwall LLC - North Carolina Western Bankruptcy Court

Case Information
Docket Header
TRANSCRIPT, APPEAL



U.S. Bankruptcy Court
Western District of North Carolina (Charlotte)
Bankruptcy Petition #: 17-31795

Assigned to: Laura T. Beyer
Chapter 11
Voluntary
Asset


Date filed:  11/02/2017
341 meeting:  01/17/2018

Debtor

Bestwall LLC

100 Peachtree Street, N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303
FULTON-GA
Tax ID / EIN: 37-1865815
fka
Georgia-Pacific LLC, a Texas limited liability company

fka
Georgia-Pacific LLC, a North Carolina limited liability company


represented by
Danielle Barav-Johnson

Jones Day
1420 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 800
Atlanta, GA 30309
(404) 581-3939
Fax : (404) 581-8330
Email: dbarav@jonesday.com
TERMINATED: 03/02/2021

Hannah N. Basta

Jones Day
1221 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30361
TERMINATED: 10/12/2021

Demi Lorant Bostian

Robinson, Bradshaw and Hinson
1450 Raleigh Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919-328-8800
Fax : 919-328-8790
Email: DBostian@robinsonbradshaw.com

Garland S. Cassada

Robinson Bradshaw & Hinson
101 N. Tryon St.
Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
(704) 377-2536
Email: gcassada@rbh.com

Kevin R. Crandall

Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
101 N. Tryon St., Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
(704) 377-2536
Email: kcrandall@robinsonbradshaw.com

Danielle D. Donovan

Jones Day
1420 Peachtree Street NE
Suite 800
Atlanta, GA 30309
404-521-3939
Fax : 404-581-8330
TERMINATED: 11/20/2020

Jeffrey Brian Ellman

Jones Day
1221 Peachtree Street, N.E.
Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30361
(404)-581-3939
Fax : (404)-581-8330
Email: jbellman@jonesday.com

Brad B. Erens

77 West Wacker
Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 782-3939
Fax : (312) 782-8585

Kelly E. Farnan

Richards Layton & Finger
One Rodney Square
920 North Kings Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Gregory M. Gordon

2727 North Harwood Street
Suite 500
Dallas, TX 75201
214-220-3939
Fax : 214-969-5100
Email: gmgordon@jonesday.com

Kevin Gross

Richards Layton & Finger
One Rodney Square
920 North King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Barbara Harding

51 Louisiana Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 879-3939
Fax : (202) 626-1700

Raymond Paul Harris, Jr.

Schachter Harris LLP
909 Lake Carolyn Parkway
Suite 1775
Irving, TX 75039
214-999-5700
Fax : 214-999-5747
Email: rharris@shtriallaw.com

James M. Jones

Jones Day
250 Vesey Street
New York, NY 10281
(212) 326-3939
Fax : (212) 755-7306
Email: jmjones@jonesday.com

Jones Day

2727 North Harwood Street
Suite 500
Dallas, TX 75201
(214) 220-3939
Fax : 214-969-5100

Livia M. Kiser

King & Spalding LLP
110 N. Wacker Drive
Suite 3800
Chicago, IL 60606
312-764-6911

Jonathan C. Krisko

Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
101 N. Tryon Street
Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
(704) 377-8314
Fax : (704) 373-3914
Email: jkrisko@rbh.com

T. Preston Moore, II

Jones Day
1221 Peachtree Street, N.E.
Suite 400
Atlanta, GA 30361

Stuart L. Pratt

Robinson Bradshaw Hinson P.A.
101 N. Tryon Street
Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
704-377-2536
Fax : 704-378-4000
Email: spratt@robinsonbradshaw.com
TERMINATED: 07/23/2021

Daniel B. Prieto

Jones Day
2727 North Harwood Street
Suite 500
Dallas, TX 75201
214-220-3939
Fax : (214) 969-5100
Email: dbprieto@jonesday.com
TERMINATED: 02/04/2019

Preetha Suresh Rini

Robinson, Bradshaw and Hinson
1450 Raleigh Road
Suite 100
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
919-328-8820
Email: prini@robinsonbradshaw.com

Amanda Rush

Jones Day
2727 North Harwood
Suite 500
Dallas, TX 75201
214.220.3939
Fax : 214.969.5100
Email: asrush@jonesday.com

Cary Ira Schachter

Schachter Harris LLP
909 Lake Carolyn Parkway
Suite 1775
Irving, TX 75039
214-999-5700
Fax : 214-999-5747
Email: cschachter@shtriallaw.com

David M. Schilli

Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A.
101 N. Tryon St., Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
704.377.8346
Fax : 704.378.4000
Email: dschilli@rbh.com

Richard A. Schneider

King & Spalding LLP
1180 Peachtree Street NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
404-572-4889
Fax : 404-572-5100
Email: dschneider@kslaw.com

Andrew W.J. Tarr

Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, PA
101 N. Tryon St.
Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
704-377-8107
Fax : 704-339-3407
Email: atarr@rbh.com

Erin A. Therrian

Schachter Harris, LLP
909 Lake Carolyn Parkway
Suite 1775
Irving, TX 75039
(214) 999-5700
Fax : (214) 999-5747
Email: etherrian@shtriallaw.com

Rachael M. Trummel

King & Spalding
110 N. Wacker Drive
Suite 3800
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 764-6922

Richard C Worf

Robinson Bradshaw Hinson P.A.
101 N. Tryon Street Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
704-377-8135
Fax : 704-339-3435
Email: rworf@rbh.com

U.S. Trustee

U.S. Bankruptcy Administrator Office

402 W. Trade Street
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28202-1669
(704)350-7587

 
 
Interested Party

Georgia-Pacific LLC


represented by
Mark P. Goodman

Debevoise & Plimpton
919 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10022
212-909-7253
Email: mpgoodman@debevoise.com

M. Natasha Labovitz

Debevoise & Plimpton
919 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10022
212-909-6648
Email: nlabovitz@debevoise.com

John R. Miller, Jr.

RAYBURN COOPER & DURHAM, P.A.
1200 The Carillon
227 West Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-334-0891
Email: jmiller@rcdlaw.net

Matthew L Tomsic

Rayburn Cooper Durham P.A.
227 West Trade St.
Suite 1200
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-334-0891
Fax : 704-337-1897
Email: mtomsic@rcdlaw.net

Interested Party

Simmons Hanly Conroy LLC


represented by
John Robert Buric

James, McElroy & Diehl, P.A.
525 N. Tryon Street, Suite 700
Ste 700
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-372-9870
Fax : 704-333-5508
Email: jburic@jmdlaw.com

Mark Andrew Fink

New York Office
666 Third Avenue
20th Floor
New York, NY 10017
212-451-2956
Fax : 212-451-2999
Email: mfink@rc.com
TERMINATED: 11/28/2017

Natalie D. Ramsey

Robinson & Cole LLP
1201 North Market Street, Suite 1406
Wilmington, DE 19801
302-516-1702
Fax : 302-516-1699
Email: nramsey@rc.com

Interested Party

Kazen, McClain, Satterley & Greenwood, PLC


represented by
Kazen, McClain, Satterley & Greenwood, PLC

PRO SE

Mark Andrew Fink

New York Office
666 Third Avenue
20th Floor
New York, NY 10017
212-451-2956
Fax : 212-451-2999
Email: mfink@rc.com
TERMINATED: 11/28/2017

Interested Party

Cooney & Conway, Cooney & Conway

Cooney & Conway
120 N. Lasalle St.
30th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
US
3122366166

represented by
John Robert Buric

(See above for address)

Katharine C. Byrne

Cooney Conway
120 N. La Salle Street Suite 3000
Chicago, IL 60602
312 236-6166
Fax : 312 236-3029
Email: kbyrne@cooneyconway.com

John D. Cooney

Cooney & Conway
120 North LaSalle Street
Ste 3000
Chicago, IL 60602
312-236-6166

Kiah T. Ford, IV

Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein LLP
620 South Tryon Street, Suite 800
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-372-9000
Email: chipford@parkerpoe.com
TERMINATED: 11/16/2017

Interested Party

Honeywell International Inc.


represented by
Darren Azman

McDERMOTT WILL & EMERY LLP
340 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10173-1922
(212) 547-5400
Fax : (212) 547-5444
Email: dazman@mwe.com

Harry Lee Davis, Jr.

Davis Hamrick LLP
P.O.Drawer 20039
Winston Salem
NC
Winston-Salem, NC 27120
336-725-8385
Fax : 336-723-8838
Email: ldavis@davisandhamrick.com

Jason L. Walters

Davis Hamrick LLP
P.O.Drawer 20039
Winston-Salem, NC 27120
336-725-8385
Fax : 336-723-8838
Email: jwalters@davisandhamrick.com

Interested Party

Dean Omar & Branham, LLP

302 N. Market Street, Suite 300
Dallas, TX 75202
214-722-5990
Tax ID / EIN: 47-2485676

represented by
Charles W Branham, III

Dean Omar Branham LLP
302 N. Market Street Suite 300
Dallas, TX 75202
214-722-5990
Fax : 214-722-5991
Email: tbranham@dobllp.com

Bill Graham

Wallace and Graham P.A.
525 North Main Street
Salisbury, NC 28144
704-633-5244
Fax : 704-738-2711
Email: bgraham@wallacegraham.com

Interested Party

Shrader

Srader & Associates, LLP
3900 Essex Lane
Suite 390
Houston, TX 77027
713-782-000

represented by
Robert Eugene Shuttlesworth

Shrader Associates LLP
3900 Essex Lane
Suite 390
Houston, TX 77027
713-782-0000
Fax : 713-571-9605
Email: robert@shraderlaw.com

Interested Party

Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, LLP


 
 
Interested Party

Sander Esserman, Future Claimants Representative


represented by
Alexander Ricks PLLC

1420 E. 7th Street
Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 28204

Erin D. Edwards

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP
Rodney Square
1000 North Kings Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Sean T. Greecher

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP
Rodney Square
1000 North King Street
Wilmington, DE
302-571-6558

Edwin J. Harron

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP
Rodney Square
1000 North Kind Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Hull & Chandler, P.A.

1001 Morehead Square Drive
Suite 450
Charlotte, NC 28203
704-375-8488
Fax : 704-375-8487
TERMINATED: 02/05/2021

Felton Parrish

Alexander Ricks PLLC
1420 E. 7th Street, Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 28204
980-334-2001
Email: felton.parrish@alexanderricks.com

James L. Patton, Jr.

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP
Rodney Square
1000 North King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

John Madison Spencer

Alexander Ricks PLLC
1420 E 7th St
Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 37219
704-365-3656
Email: jack.spencer@alexanderricks.com

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP

Rodney Square
1000 North King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
(302) 571-6600
Fax : (302) 571-1253

Travis G. buchanan

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP
Rodney Square
1000 North King Street
Wilmington, DE 19801

Interested Party

Foster & Sear


represented by
Jeff A. McCurdy

Foster Sear LLP.
817 Greenview Dr.
Grand Prairie, TX 75050
817-633-3355
Fax : 817-633-5507
Email: jmccurdy@fostersear.com

Interested Party

Manville Personal Injury Settlement Trust and Delaware Claims Processing Facility


represented by
B. Chad Ewing

Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP
301 South College Street, Suite 3500
Charlotte, NC 28202-6037
704-331-4996
Fax : 704-338-7854
Email: chad.ewing@wbd-us.com

Timothy M. Haggerty

Friedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP
1 Gateway Center
Newark, NJ 07102-5311

Michael S. Palmieri

Friedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP
7 Times Square
New York
New York, NY 10036-6516
212-833-1100
Email: mpalmieri@fklaw.com

Jason C. Rubinstein

Friedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP
7 Times Square
New York, NY 10036-6516
212-833-1100
Email: jrubinstein@fklaw.com

Interested Party

United States Of America


represented by
Gill Beck

U.S. Attorneys Office
100 Otis Street
Room 233, US Courthouse
Asheville, NC 28801
828-259-0645
Fax : 828-271-4327
Email: gill.beck@usdoj.gov

Interested Party

U.S. Bank National Association, as Trustee

c/o Greenberg Traurig, LLP
90 South Seventh Street, Suite 3500
Minneapolis, MN 55402

represented by
Peter D. Kieselbach

Greenberg Traurig, LLP
90 South Seventh Street
Suite 3500
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Ryan Reimers

Greenberg Traurig, P.A
8022 Providence Road
Ste 500-255
Charlotte, NC 28270
704-790-4711
Email: reimersr@gtlaw.com

Interested Party

Potential Asbestos Claimants Actually Represented by Law Firms on Exhibit A

Waldrep Wall Babcock & Bailey PLLC
370 Knollwood Street, Suite 600
Winston Salem, NC 27103

represented by
Thomas W. Waldrep, Jr.

Waldrep Wall Babcock & Bailey PLLC
370 Knollwood Street
Suite 600
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
336-717-1280
Fax : 336-722-1993
Email: notice@waldrepwall.com

Interested Party

Claimants of Simmons Hanly Conroy

James McElroy Diehl
525 N. Tryon Street
Suite 700
Charlotte, NC 28202
United States
7043729870

represented by
John Robert Brickley

James McElroy Diehl
525 N. Tryon Street
Suite 700
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-327-9870
Email: jbrickley@jmdlaw.com

John Robert Buric

(See above for address)

Interested Party

Claimants of Motley Rice LLC

James McElroy Diehl
525 N. Tryon Street
Suite 700
Charlotte, NC 28202
United States
7043729870

represented by
John Robert Brickley

(See above for address)

John Robert Buric

(See above for address)

Interested Party

Joseph W Grier, III

Grier Wright Martinez, PA
521 E MOREHEAD ST STE 440
Suite 440
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-375-3720

represented by
Debra L. Felder

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Columbia Center, 1152 15th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 339-8400
Fax : (202) 339-8500
Email: dfelder@orrick.com

Joseph W. Grier, III

Grier Wright Martinez, PA
521 E. Morehead St.
Suite 440
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-375-3720
Fax : 704-332-0215
Email: jgrier@grierlaw.com

Jonathan P. Guy

Orrick Herrington Sutcliffe LLP
Columbia Center
1152 15th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20005
202-339-8516
Fax : 202-339-8500
Email: jguy@orrick.com

Anna Cotten Wright

Grier Wright Martinez, PA
521 E Morehead Street
Suite 440
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-332-0207
Email: cwright@grierlaw.com

Creditor Committee

The Official Committee of Asbestos Claimants of Bestwall, LLC
represented by
Robert A. Cox, Jr.

Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC
525 N. Tryon Street
Suite 1400
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-227-1069
Fax : 704-344-1483
Email: rcox@lawhssm.com

Kenneth Brian Dantinne

Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC
525 North Tryon Street
Suite 1400
Charlotte, NC 28202
704-344-1117
Fax : 704-344-1483
Email: kdantinne@lawhssm.com

Mark Andrew Fink

(See above for address)

Natalie D. Ramsey

(See above for address)

Linda Wright Simpson

JD Thompson Law
7714 Quail Hill Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
704-641-4359
Email: LWS@jdthompsonlaw.com

Glenn C. Thompson

Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin
525 North Tryon Street
Suite 1400
Charlotte, NC 28202
(704) 227-1067
Fax : (704) 344-1483
Email: gthompson@lawhssm.com

Davis Lee Wright

Robinson & Cole LLP
1000 North West St
Suite 1200
Wilmington, DE 19801
(302) 295-5053
Email: dwright@rc.com

Latest Dockets

Date Filed#Docket Text
10/14/20212160Notice of Agenda of Matters Scheduled for Hearing on October 19, 2021 filed by Garland S. Cassada on behalf of Bestwall LLC. (Cassada, Garland) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/20212159Ex Parte Order Granting Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice for T. Preston Moore, II (Related Doc # 2155) (cas) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/20212158Response /Opposition to Request for Certification of Direct Appeal of Contempt Order and Sanctions Order Hearing scheduled for 10/19/2021 at 9:30 AM at 3-LTB-Charlotte Courthouse (RE: related document(s) 2135 Motion for Certification of Direct Appeal filed by Spec. Counsel Maune Raichle Hartley French & Mudd, Creditor Illinois Individuals) Filed by Garland S. Cassada on behalf of Bestwall LLC. (Cassada, Garland) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/20212157Response /Debtor's Opposition to Motion to Stay Pending Appeal and for Approval of Supersedeas Bond Hearing scheduled for 10/19/2021 at 9:30 AM at 3-LTB-Charlotte Courthouse (RE: related document(s) 2133 Motion (Other) filed by Spec. Counsel Maune Raichle Hartley French & Mudd, Creditor Illinois Individuals) Filed by Garland S. Cassada on behalf of Bestwall LLC. (Cassada, Garland) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/20212156Declaration of Jeffrey B. Ellman in Support of the Ex Parte Application of the Debtor for an Order Authorizing It to Retain and Employ Jones Day as Counsel as of the Petition Date (RE: related document(s) 24 Application to Employ filed by Debtor Bestwall LLC) filed by Garland S. Cassada on behalf of Bestwall LLC. (Cassada, Garland) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/2021Receipt of Filing Fee for Appear Pro Hac Vice( 17-31795) [motion,mprohac] ( 281.00). Receipt number A9167549, amount $ 281.00. (U.S. Treasury) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/20212155Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice for T. Preston Moore, II (Fee Amount $ 281) filed by Garland S. Cassada on behalf of Bestwall LLC. (Cassada, Garland) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/14/20212154Order Granting in part, Denying in part Debtor's Motion to Enforce PIQ Order with Respect to Non-Compliant Claimants (Related Doc # 2065) (cas) (Entered: 10/14/2021)
10/13/20212153Notice of Filing of Bestwall Settlement Facility Quarterly Asbestos Claims Report for the Period of July 1, 2021 Through September 30, 2021 filed by Ryan Reimers on behalf of U.S. Bank National Association, as Trustee. (Reimers, Ryan) (Entered: 10/13/2021)
10/12/20212152Ex Parte Order Granting Motion to Withdraw Hannah N. Basta as Attorney (Related Doc # 2150) (cas) (Entered: 10/12/2021)